A Chakra Healing Diet To Will Heal Your Body and Mind

woman in road
Kalle Gustafsson /Trunk Archive

The seven chakras are centers in the body that energy moves through. When this energy is blocked, it can lead to illness, fatigue, and alterations in mood. One way to balance and attune the chakras is to keep those good vibrations flowing via eating an optimal diet. Given that each chakra is associated with a different color, the chakra diet makes for one of the most colorful (and easiest-to-remember) nutrition trends ever. Foods that share the same hues carry vibrations to activate and balance the corresponding chakras. From energy-boosting combinations to soothing remedies, tasting the rainbow might be the key to keeping your body, mind, and spirit in alignment. We're cool with that.

Root Chakra

Located in the base of the spine or tailbone area, the root chakra is responsible for feelings of groundedness and well-being (it's aptly named). Emotionally, the root chakra is linked to financial independence, money, and food. A block in the root chakra might manifest by feelings of burnout, fatigue, or a lack of motivation. To stimulate the root chakra, reach for vibrant crimson foods such as beets, strawberries, radishes, tomatoes, and chilies. The color wheel isn't a hard-and-fast rule, however, though it does make the basics simple to remember. Potatoes, onion, garlic, spinach, and carrots also stimulate the root chakra.

Sacral Chakra

The sacral chakra is located approximately two inches within and below the navel. Attributed to creativity, sexuality, and reproduction, the second chakra is closely linked with our ability to embrace new experiences and connect with others. It's the emotional center for feelings of abundance, well-being, pleasure, and sexuality. If you find yourself having a low-confidence day, reach for bright orange foods to stimulate this chakra, such as orange, papaya, mango, pumpkin, cantaloupe, and honey, which all boost feelings of worthiness and abundance. Bread and butter, pasta, and chocolate are also on the list, which explains why they make such effective comfort food.

Solar Plexus Chakra

The third, or solar plexus chakra, is located in the upper abdomen or stomach area. The energetic center for feelings of willpower and self-esteem, it is associated with our ability to exercise control and confidence. If you're feeling depressed or emotional, reach for sunny-hued foods. Bananas, apricots, pineapple, yogurt, corn, whole grains, and cheese all stimulate the third chakra. We always knew pizza fed the soul. Treat yo self. 

Heart Chakra

Located in the chest just above the heart, the fourth chakra maintains our ability to love. Joy, inner peace, kindness, compassion, and security are all integral to heart chakra flow. If you are experiencing adrenal fatigue or feeling emotionally drained, fourth chakra–boosting greens will naturally restore your vitality and energy levels. Broccoli, kale, lettuce, sprouts, tofu, brown rice, and lentils all fit the bill. For a healthy heart, love your veggies. 

Throat Chakra

The fifth throat chakra, located in the throat, is responsible for communication. Traditionally, Native Americans often wore turquoise jewelry around the neck to correspond with the chakra's azure vibration. The throat chakra is said to control psychic consciousness. Your ability to hone in on gut feelings, listen to your guides, as well as effectively communicate with others is linked to the fifth chakra energy flow. Fifth chakra foods such as blueberries, blackberries, kelp, dragon fruit, wheatgrass, ginseng, and mushroom are excellent choices when dealing with anxiety. 

Brow Chakra

The brow chakra, or third eye chakra, is located in the middle of the forehead between the eyebrows. Responsible for intuition, ideas, visualizations, and perspective, it's often associated with the idea of seeing the big picture. If you're feeling frustrated or seeking to find forgiveness in a situation, sixth chakra stimulating foods will be of service. The same goes for facing a big decision or when experiencing indecision. Go for deep violet foods: eggplant, grapes, plums, black currants, purple carrots, and purple lettuce will oblige. Maybe it's a liberal interpretation, but by our math, this means that wine is also vital to creativity and not losing the thread to that whole big picture thing. 

Crown Chakra

Finally, the seventh crown chakra is located at the very top of the head. Responsible for consciousness, spiritual awakening, and inner wisdom, it represents our ability to be fully present and aware, seeking enlightenment. The chakra is stimulated by meditation and prayer. It is not associated with any type of food. In fact, it's often suggested that fasting or juicing can stimulate the flow of the crown chakra. Quieting the body quiets the mind. Drink plenty of water, and practice daily meditation to fully integrate your spiritual, emotional, and physical health. 

Related Stories