6 Surprising Foods You Never Knew Were Gluten-Free
Ten years ago, when my best friend was diagnosed with Celiac disease, the only place to buy gluten-free products was at a small section in the back of Whole Foods—and it was all crusty bagels and flavorless brownies. But now, going gluten-free is de rigueur, and you can get essentially anything gluten-free—from your pizza and pasta to even your skincare and makeup.
But once you make the decision to ditch gluten for good, deciphering what you can and can't eat can be confusing—not to mention, kind of a bummer (seriously, who wants to find out they can never have another Thin Mint?). Which is why we came up with this list of surprising foods you can still enjoy on a gluten-free diet. Eat up!
Keep scrolling to see five surprising foods that are gluten-free!
Tide and Thyme
White, brown, basmati—the carb-y goodness of rice in all it's purest incarnations is safe to eat. Just be careful with your sushi. Sticky rice is often made with rice wine or rice vinegar, both of which can trigger reactions in people with gluten sensitivities (not to mention, the soy sauce you dip your sushi in surprisingly contains gluten!).
No, you don't have to kiss potatoes goodbye when you embark on a gluten-free diet. These starchy veggies are often wrongfully accused of containing gluten. But just because potatoes are gluten-free doesn't mean you should gorge on the French fries: aside from the obvious health implications, some restaurants use breading to get their fries extra crispy. If you're not sure, ask.
Pinch of Yum
There's been some controversy over whether people with Celiac disease or a gluten intolerance can tolerate oats. The good news? Most people can incorporate small amounts of pure oats into their gluten-free diet without any problems. Just look for the label that says gluten-free. Otherwise, they could have been cross contaminated with gluten-containing wheat, barley, or rye during harvesting.
Though it's a grain, pure corn is a gluten-free food that shouldn't bother people with gluten sensitivities. That means your corn on the cob and corn tortilla tacos can still be on the menu—but again, if the food you're eating has been processed or contains other ingredients besides corn, be sure to double check the labels.
The Little White Kitchen
And finally—French macarons. Who would have guessed these adorable, airy little treats were completely gluten-free? They’re usually made with just four ingredients: ground almonds, egg whites, powdered sugar, and white sugar. Not the healthiest, perhaps, but they’re small enough so that it doesn’t count (that's how it works, right?).
Which of these gluten-free foods was most surprising? Do you follow a gluten-free diet? Sound off in the comments below!